Geek Girl: Head Over Heels by Holly Smale

Posted in Books

Hi, I’m Dannie and I’m a self-confessed Geek Girl fangirl.   I’ll admit I was rather late to the Geek Girl hype, only beginning the series when I moved to North Yorkshire just under two years ago.   From the first book, I was hooked and I have been keeping up with the series ever since.   I had been counting down the days to the publication of the fifth book in the series, Head Over Heels, and I was beyond ecstatic when I received the opportunity to read it a few weeks before official publication.

Geek Girl Head Over Heels - Famous in Japan

Geek Girl: Head Over Heels

Publication Date: 07 April 2016
Publisher: Harper Collins Childrens

“My name is Harriet Manners, and I will always be a geek.”

The fifth book in the bestselling, award-winning GEEK GIRL series.

Harriet Manners knows almost every fact there is.

She knows duck-billed platypuses don’t have stomachs.
She knows that fourteen squirrels were once detained as spies.
She knows that both chess and snakes and ladders were invented in the same country.

And for once, Harriet knows exactly how her life should go. She’s got it ALL planned out. So her friends seem less than happy, Harriet is determined to Make Things Happen!
If only everyone else would stick to the script…

But is following the rules going to break hearts for GEEK GIRL?

Head Over Heels is the fifth book in the Geek Girl series.  Just to summarise, Geek Girl is about a young girl called Harriet, who is “spotted” by a modelling scout during a school trip.  A self confessed geek who loves dinosaurs, Harriet isn’t the “typical” model you would expect.  Each book takes us to a different location, and we have accompanied Harriet to Russia, Tokyo, America and Morocco so far.   It’s fair to say that I am jealous (and ashamed) that even Harriet has been to Tokyo, and I haven’t… yet.

In Head Over Heels, Harriet is now at sixth form.  She is juggling homework, revision timetables and friends.   Of course, it wouldn’t be a Geek Girl book without a little bit of modelling, a dash of travel and plenty of surprises. 

It’s hard to talk about Head Over Heels in detail, considering it is the fifth book in the series.  I would hate to spoil the story for those who haven’t caught up yet, or those who haven’t started the series.   However, if you do decide to begin the series, you have a lot to look forward to in Head Over Heels.  The story is brimming with twists and turns, as well as little life lessons that even I can apply to my life.  There were times I wanted to reach into the novel, grab Harriet for a big hug, and tell her that I understood exactly how she was feeling. 

The tone and style of Geek Girl is unbelievably consistent.  It never falters throughout the series, and gives Harriet such an unique and memorable voice.  I find it adorable how she uses a fact to relate to how she is feeling at the time – and it’s always a new fact!

“Apparently as soon as a young sea-squirt finds a rock to anchor itself to, it will eat its own brain because it doesn’t really need one any more.  I think that’s possible what’s happened to me.”

What I love most about the Geek Girl series is that it has a strong feminist message, but it is rather subtle.  It’s only towards the later books that I have begun to notice it!  Harriet is a “geek” i.e. she is very intelligent, but it doesn’t bother her.   In fact, it is her favourite thing about herself, and it is what others like about her too, even boys.  I love the fact that young girls will be getting this message and embracing their academic side, rather than “dumbing themselves down” to look appealing to boys (who are gross and do not deserve them anyway).    Over the course of the Geek Girl books Harriet has been growing up, but it’s in Head Over Heels where we really begin to see how much of a mature young woman she has become.   She is becoming her own person, taking control of her life, and doing what she wants to do, instead of what she thinks others want her to do.  

I was very happy to award Head Over Heels 5/5 on GoodReads.  The series just keeps getting better, and Head Over Heels is my favourite book of the series… so far!  Honestly, the entire series is just happiness in book form and I don’t want it to end.  *clutches Kindle desperately*

I may be 10 years older than the intended target audience, but I don’t care.  I genuinely wish that I could have had the Geek Girl series when I was a young girl.   I would have loved to read about a girl who was similar to me at that age (as in “geeky”, I wasn’t a model!). Unfortunately, the only books I had at that age were about teenage girls who were getting up to all sorts (which made me feel terribly inadequate as I definitely wasn’t doing what they were!).  

With the next book billed as the final book in the series, I don’t know what I will do with myself when I no longer have a Geek Girl book to look forward to.  Will I have to start reading “grown up” books? *shudders*

Dannie x

A copy of Geek Girl: Head Over Heels was provided in exchange for an honest review.  No further compensation received.

April 6, 2016
Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like