The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James

Posted in Books
The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club

The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club

Well, hello there!  Welcome to my stop on the Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club Blog Tour hosted by Neverland Blog Tours.  I’m so happy to be telling you all what I thought of The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James.

The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James

The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James

Publication Date: 01 August 2016
Publisher: Carina

Emily Reed is having a bad day. Devastated at losing her hard-earned promotion to the ditz who’s sleeping with the boss, her mother drops a devastating bombshell—the dad she’s known and loved for twenty-five years isn’t her biological father.

Now Emily needs answers and a month in Luna Bay should give her the time she needs to find her father, and land the difficult client at the Sunflower Cottage B&B which should put her back in the running for her coveted promotion.

Setting up the Sunflower Cottage breakfast club should be a great way to meet the locals and maybe even find out who her father is! The only problem is that brooding and insanely gorgeous, Noah, is determined to make Emily’s stay perfectly uncomfortable.

Finding out the truth was never going to be simple, but she never thought her heart would get in the way…

After loving Lynsey’s previous novels – Just the Way You Are and the Broken Hearts Book Club, only wild horses would keep me away from her third novel – the Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club.   This is the second book in the Luna Bay series, but do not fear, you can read this book if you haven’t read the first book (although I would definitely recommend that you do!)

The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club follows Emily, a young, career-driven woman living in Glasgow. Following a bad day at work, where she is passed over for a (well deserved) promotion, she is told that her dad isn’t her dad, and her biological father is in Luna Bay.  Spotting an opportunity to prove herself to her bosses, she travels to Luna Bay to sign the Sunflower Cottage to their roster of hotels.   It wouldn’t hurt to find out more about her father at the same time, would it?

Well, what can I say, The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club is trademark Lynsey James.  I really enjoy Lynsey’s style of writing and tone in her novels.  It’s fresh, chatty and  different.   I was already familiar with the characters of Luna Bay through the first novel in the series, but they’re such a lovely bunch of people it would be a crime if you didn’t like them.  They’re well written and most importantly, they’re Yorkshire people.  I have to say I am rather envious of Emily literally running into a hunk like Noah.  Let me tell you, I never ran into such a hunk when I lived by the seaside… I don’t even want to go into what I ran into…

The plot of The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club was as sweet as its name.  It’s a feel good book, perfect for curling up on the sofa, wrapped up in bed or chilling in the park.  Not to fear my fellow commuters – it’s also ideal for those long train journeys.    As this novel is linked to the second novel, I had a little inkling of what was going to happen.  This actually made me enjoy the novel more as I liked the little nods to the previous novel, and how Lynsey linked the two novels together.

I would have liked The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club to be a little longer in story length and perhaps just a little slower in pace…   However, it is worth noting that I had an advance review copy that wasn’t as polished as the final thing, so perhaps this has been ironed out in final editing.

I awarded 4/5 stars to The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club on GoodReads.  It’s a book that you can get completely lost into; I swear that the hours flew by when I was reading!   I would recommend Lynsey’s novels for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Tracy Bloom and to those who are wanting a fresh spin on women’s fiction.

I’m so excited for the third book in the Luna Bay series, and my beady eyes have already spotted it on Amazon.  I will keep my lips sealed so I don’t ruin the surprise, but I do hope that I’ll be able to board that blog tour train when the time comes. *flutters eyelashes in Lynsey’s direction*

Thank you very much to Lynsey James for providing me with a copy of the novel, and to Neverland Blog Tours for letting me take part in the blog tour!  To find out more about Lynsey, you can follow her on Twitter.

Dannie x

A copy of The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James was provided in exchange for an honest review as part of a blog tour.  No further compensation received.

August 11, 2016
Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

You may also like